Join meeting room as caregiver
As a caregiver, you can join a meeting room in two ways; by clicking the button in the list of meeting rooms or by using a join code.
By the button in the meeting room list
- Go to the page for Meeting rooms.
- Find the meeting room you want to join.
- Select “Join”.
- You will immediately join the meeting room.
By a join code
- Go to the page for Meeting rooms.
- Select “Join a meeting room”.
- Enter the join code for the meeting room.
- Select “Join”.
- You will immediately join the meeting room.
When you join as a caregiver, your name and professional role can be seen by all participants.
Manage people in Waiting Area
When people join the meeting room, a sound will play in the form of a “ping”. All people who join, except caregivers, are placed in the Waiting Area until the host of the meeting room is ready to admit their participants.
A caregiver can see how many people are waiting at the top of the meeting room window.
The “People in waiting room (x)” button is grey when there are no people waiting and yellow when there are people waiting.
Click the button to see who is waiting in the Waiting Area. A new smaller window will appear with the name and identifier (usually a number) of each person. Choose to admit them when you are ready.
Bear in mind
To reduce the risk of accidentally showing patient data, you can not open the Waiting Area while screen sharing. To admit new people from the Waiting Area, you need to stop screen sharing first.
To identify people in the Waiting Area, their identifier is shown next to their name. E.g. NHS number or social security number for nordic market. Remember to only open your patients’ medical records. There is no guarantee that a person in the Waiting Area is a patient. E.g. it could be a relative who has accessed the information.
What caregivers can do during a video consultation in a meeting room:
- Admit people to the meeting room
- Share screen with other participants. When you choose to share screen, your browser will ask what content you want to share. Keep in mind that there may be differences between different browsers.
- Turn on/off your own camera.
- Turn on/off your own microphone.
- Leave the meeting room. If you are the only caregiver in the meeting room or the last caregiver to leave the meeting room, the video consultation will end for all participants. Before it ends, a new window will appear asking you to confirm that you want to end it.
Reporting issues with the video functionality
Are you or another participant experiencing issues with the video functionality? Use the “Report a problem” button directly in the video view. The information is sent to the team responsible for improving video functionality. Do not include any sensitive information. For general support where you receive a response, please use the usual channels.
Updated on 2025-07-10