Handover a case – to another unit
Use Doctrin Network to give patients seamless care, by handing over a case to another unit within your organisation.
You might want to hand over a case to a colleague in another unit, if you for example think that the patient should continue receiving care in another unit.
How to handover a case to another unit – within your organisation
- Go to the case view for a patient.
- Select “Handover” in the tool panel.
- In the pop-up that appears, select the unit you want to take over the case
- ..choose to send the Handover to a whole profession(s) or a specific colleague:
- Select only a profession, if you want help from anyone in the group.
- Select also the name of a specific colleague, if you want help from a specific colleague.
- Add a comment if needed (optional).
- Select “Send handover”.
Only the selected profession(s) or selected colleague will be able to take over the case. You can only hand over to a profession(s) that have at least one user.
If a comment is added it will be shown to whoever opens the request. The comment can be used to explain why a handover is needed.
Concent and acceptance
When you handover a case to another unit, you will see the case in the list “My ongoing cases” until the handover is complete. This means that you are still responsible for the case until a recieving unit has approved the handover.
- Patients must consent to their case being handed over to an external unit. The white arrow-icon indicates that the handover is pending consent.
- Once a patient consent has been given, the arrow-icon is changed to purple. This indicates that the case is pending acceptance from the recieving unit.
- Once a patient has given consent, the chat is deactivated until the receiving unit has has approved the handover. The patient can not write or upload pictures. The patient can choose to cancel the handover and the chat will then be active again.
When the case has been accepted – the case is closed in the current unit and a new case is created in the receiving unit.
If a patient cancels a handover, the case becomes visible to the user who was the original owner of it. After a short period, the case becomes visible to all colleagues in the same professional category.
How a case looks after Handover – for the receiving unit
The receiving unit will see the case in the list “New cases – from another unit”, but only for the users with the profession(s) you selected, or the specified colleague (by name) that you selected.
The caregiver that receives a case can read chat history and attachments from the previous unit.
A handover from the view of a patient
The patient is informed in the chat that their caregiver wants to handover the case to another unit, outside of the current unit. The patient has to approve a Handover. The patient can see both the old case and the new case.
If the patient declines a Handover the case is returned to the person responsible for the case.
Updated on 2023-01-16